skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

MPhil Diary

The diary contains term dates, course submission deadlines and deadlines for funding amongst other useful information. For a teaching timetable, please see Timetables.

MPhil in Social Anthropology 2015-16
MICHAELMAS TERM 2015
Thursday 8 October Michaelmas Term teaching begins
Friday 16 October Nominations for student representatives close
Friday 16 October Transfer to the PhD session Seminar Room, Social Anthropology
Wednesday 21 October MPhil student representative elections
Friday 30 October Set Essay titles published
Thursday 19 November Deadline for submitting choice of Exam papers & Set Essay title - Form MP13
Tuesday 1 December Application deadline for overseas students continuing to the PhD
7-11 December Fieldwork methods workshop
Friday 11 December Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Christmas vacation fieldwork
LENT TERM 2016
Friday 8 January Application deadline for UK/EU students continuing to the PhD
Tuesday 12 January Michaelmas Term progress reports released via CamSIS
Thursday 14 January Lent Term teaching begins
Wednesday 10 February Deadline for submitting thesis title for approval - Form MP14
Friday 4 March Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Easter vacation fieldwork
EASTER TERM 2016
Tuesday 19 April Set Essay submission deadline
Tuesday 19 April Thesis synopsis submission deadline for students submitting in May
Tuesday 19 April Lent Term progress reports released via CamSIS self-service
Thursday 21 April Easter Term teaching begins
Late April Examination timetable released to students
Tuesday 10 May First thesis submission deadline
Tuesday 10 May Thesis synopsis submission deadline for August submission
Thursday 28 May Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for summer vacation fieldwork
Early June MPhil examinations – Dates TBC at the end of April
Wednesday 15 June Easter Term ends – Update contact details on CamSIS
Friday 26 August Thesis submission deadline
Late September Viva voce examinations (only if required)

 

Academic calendar

The Cambridge academic year is made up of three terms: Michaelmas, Lent, and Easter. “Full term” means: the eight-week central portion of each of the three terms (Michaelmas, Lent and Easter), during which teaching takes place and students are expected to be in residence. For specific term dates please see University Term Dates.