skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

MPhil Diary

The diary contains term dates, course submission deadlines and deadlines for funding amongst other useful information. For a teaching timetable, please see Timetables.

MPhil in Social Anthropology 2016-17
MICHAELMAS TERM 2016
Thursday 6 October Michaelmas Term teaching begins
Friday 14 October Nominations for student representatives close
Friday 14 October Transfer to the PhD session Seminar Room, Social Anthropology 11:00
Wednesday 19 October MPhil student representative elections
Friday 28 October Set Essay titles published
Thursday 17 November Deadline for submitting Set Essay title - Form MP13
Wednesday 7 December Major funding application deadline for overseas students applying to the PhD
Friday 25 November Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Christmas vacation fieldwork
LENT TERM 2017
Wednesday 4 January Major funding application deadline for UK/EU students applying to the PhD
Thursday 19 January Lent Term teaching begins
Thursday 15 February Deadline for submitting dissertation title for approval - Form MP14
Friday 10 March Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Easter vacation fieldwork
EASTER TERM 2016
Tuesday 25 April Set Essay submission deadline
Tuesday 25 April Dissertation synopsis submission deadline for students submitting in May
Thursday 27 April Easter Term teaching begins
Late April Examination timetable released to students
Tuesday 16 May Dissertation synopsis submission deadline
Thursday 18 May First dissertation submission deadline
Thursday 31 May Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for summer vacation fieldwork
Early June MPhil examinations – Dates TBC at the end of April
Wednesday 14 June Easter Term ends – Update contact details on CamSIS
Friday 25 August Second dissertation submission deadline
Late September Viva voce examinations (only if required)

 

Academic calendar

The Cambridge academic year is made up of three terms: Michaelmas, Lent, and Easter. “Full term” means: the eight-week central portion of each of the three terms (Michaelmas, Lent and Easter), during which teaching takes place and students are expected to be in residence. For specific term dates please see University Term Dates.