skip to primary navigationskip to content

Dr Candea wins the Pilkington Prize

last modified Feb 17, 2016 05:01 PM

Dr Matei Candea is one of this year’s Pilkington Teaching Prize winners.

Dr Matei CandeaTwelve inspirational academics have been recognised for their outstanding quality and approach to teaching. The winners, listed below, will attend an awards ceremony at Queens’ College in June, where they will receive a prize from the Vice-Chancellor.

The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to academic staff, with candidates nominated by Schools within the University. The awards were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington, the first Chairman of the Cambridge Foundation, who believed passionately that the quality of teaching was crucial to Cambridge’s success.

The 2016 Pilkington Prize winners are:

  • Dr Christof Schwiening – Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience
  • Dr Sandra Fulton – Department of Biochemistry
  • Dr Noel Rutter – Department of Materials Science
  • Dr Emma Mawdsley – Department of Geography
  • Dr Matei Candea – Division of Social Anthropology
  • Dr Carl Watkins – Faculty of History
  • Dr Karen Ottewell – The Language Centre
  • Dr Sophia Connell – Faculty of Philosophy
  • Dr Keith Seffen – Department of Engineering
  • Dr Robert Harle – Faculty of Computer Science and Technology
  • Dr Nicola Jones – Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (Papworth Hospital)
  • Dr Ruchi Sinnatamby – Cambridge Breast Unit

More information about the awards, including a list of winners from previous years, can be found on the Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning website.