skip to content

Department of Social Anthropology

 

Course diary

The diary contains term dates, course submission deadlines and deadlines for funding amongst other useful information. For a teaching timetable, please see the Timetables.

MRes in Social Anthropology 2021-22
MICHAELMAS TERM 2021
Thursday 7 October Michaelmas Term teaching begins
Wednesday 13 October 17:00 Deadline - Nominations for pre-field cohort PhD Committee Junior Member
tbc Election for nomination of pre-field cohort PhD Committee Junior Member
Friday 22 October Research Training Paper titles released
Monday 23 November Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Christmas vacation fieldwork
LENT TERM 2022
Thursday 6 January (noon) Application funding deadline for continuation to the PhD  (GRADSAF)
Thursday 20 January Lent Term teaching begins
Friday 21 January 12pm Noon Submission deadline for Research Training Paper (RTP) 1
Friday 4 March Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Easter vacation fieldwork
Friday 18 March Lent Full Term ends
EASTER TERM 2022
Thursday 28 April Easter Term teaching begins
Friday 29 April Noon Submission deadline for Research Training Paper (RTP) 2
Friday 29 April  Noon Submission deadline for Ethnographic Case Study
Wednesday 11 May Noon deadline for submitting MRes thesis title for approval
Friday 18 June Easter Term ends, update contact details in your CamSIS self-service account
Friday 26 August 12pm Noon Submission deadline for MRes thesis
Monday 12 September 12pm Noon Submission deadline for Fieldwork Proposal
Late September MRes viva voce examinations (if required)*
Late September/ Early October Fieldwork clearance interviews (for those continuing to PhD)
Early October Application deadline for University Fieldwork Funding
Friday 7 October Application deadline for Wyse Fieldwork Funding

* An oral examination is only necessary if a candidate is in danger of failing


A staff-student coffee morning is held during Full Term - you will be notified of the time and date.
 

Academic calendar

  • The Cambridge academic year commences on 1st October and finishes on 30th September each year and is made up of three terms: Michaelmas, Lent, and Easter.
  • “Full term” means the eight-week central portion of each of the three terms (Michaelmas, Lent and Easter), during which teaching takes place.
  • Graduate students operate on the basis of the academic year which extends beyond the end of the Easter Term are expected to be in residence at all times, even outside of Full Term, unless they have been granted leave to work away.

For specific term dates please see University Term Dates.