skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

MRes Diary

Induction week

Below is the schedule for Induction week 2018. All students are expected to attend the events listed below, so please let the Graduate Administrator, (graduate-secretary [at] socanth.cam.c.uk) know if you cannot attend any of the activities.

All events take place in the Department of Social Anthropology unless specified otherwise.
 

DateTimeDescription and Location
Before
course
All-year SSRMC Skills audit, online at SSRMC
Tue 02 October Morning Health & safety induction, Babbage Lecture Theatre
Wed 03 October 11:30 Pre-Field Induction, Department of Social Anthropology
Wed 03 October 16:00 Introduction to the (SSRMC), Lady Mitchell Hall, Sidgwick site
Wed 03 October 17:00 SSRMC booking window opens, University Training & Booking System
Thu 04 October 09:00 Teaching begins, see MRes/PhD1 Timetables
Fri 05 October 18:00 Social Anthropology welcome party, Museum of Arch & Anth
Wed 10 October Morning Interviews with pre-field tutor & PhD Chair, Departent of Social Anthropology

 

 

Course Diary

The diary contains term dates, course submission deadlines and deadlines for funding amongst other useful information. For a teaching timetable, please see the Timetables.

MRes in Social Anthropology 2018-19
MICHAELMAS TERM 2018
Thursday 05 October Michaelmas Term teaching begins
Friday 12 October 17:00 Deadline - Nominations for pre-field cohort PhD Committee Junior Member
Wednesday 17 October Election for nomination of pre-field cohort PhD Committee Junior Member
Friday 26 October Research Training Paper titles released
Friday 07 December Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Christmas vacation fieldwork
LENT TERM 2019
Thursday 3 January Application funding deadline for continuation to the PhD  (GRADSAF)
Friday 11 January Application deadline for William Wyse Bursary applications
Thursday 17 January Lent Term teaching begins
Friday 18 January Noon Submission deadline for Research Training Paper (RTP) 1
Friday 8 March Fieldwork Risk Assessment Form due for Easter vacation fieldwork
Friday 15 March Lent Full Term ends
EASTER TERM 2019
Thursday 25 April Easter Term teaching begins
Friday 26 April Noon Submission deadline for Research Training Paper (RTP) 2
Friday 26 April Noon Submission deadline for Ethnographic Case Study
Wednesday 15 May Noon deadline for submitting MRes thesis title for approval
Friday 14 June Easter Term ends, update contact details in your CamSIS self-service account
Friday 30 August Noon Submission deadline for MRes thesis
Monday 16 September Noon Submission deadline for Research Proposal Portfolio
Late September MRes viva voce examinations (if required)*
Late September/ Early October Fieldwork clearance interviews (for those continuing to PhD)
Early October 2019 Application deadline for University Fieldwork Funding
10 October 2019 Application deadline for Wyse Fieldwork Funding

* An oral examination is only necessary if a candidate is in danger of failing


A staff-student coffee morning is held during Full Term - you will be notified of the time and date.
 

Academic Calendar

  • The Cambridge academic year commences on 1st October and finishes on 30th September each year and is made up of three terms: Michaelmas, Lent, and Easter.
  • “Full term” means the eight-week central portion of each of the three terms (Michaelmas, Lent and Easter), during which teaching takes place.
  • Graduate students operate on the basis of the academic year which extends beyond the end of the Easter Term are expected to be in residence at all times, even outside of Full Term, unless they have been granted leave to work away.

For specific term dates please see University Term Dates.